Child Support Enforcement in Pasadena, CA
Are You Owed Child Support? Let Goldberg & Gille Help!
If the other parent of your child has refused to pay court-ordered child
support, it is important to understand that you are not without options.
In California, there are specific remedies available to help custodial
parents enforce their
child support orders and collect on overdue payments. For this reason, you should waste
no time in discussing your options with a
Pasadena family law attorney at Goldberg & Gille. With more than 80 years of collective experience,
we can vigorously advocate for your rights.
The First Step: Making Sure You Have a Court Order
Before you can enforce the payment of overdue child support, you will need
to make sure you have a court order in place. If you have nothing more
than an oral agreement, you wouldn’t be able to enforce the agreement
in court. Court orders are legally binding, which is why it would be in
your best interest to have the terms of your child support arrangement
approved by a judge. Once your agreement is established in writing, the
court could help you enforce the order.
If you need to establish child support, you can file an action:
On your own, using the child support forms
- By hiring a divorce lawyer to file a petition on your behalf; or
By asking the
DCSS to file for child support on your behalf.
Ways to Enforce a Child Support Order in California
Once your child support agreement has been approved by the court, there
are several ways the court could help enforce the order and collect on
overdue payments. One of the most common ways is for the court to hold
the delinquent parent “in contempt.” If the non-paying parent
is held in civil contempt, they will be sent to jail until their child
support obligations have been met. Further penalties can also be assessed
by the court in an effort to collect on overdue support.
Once a delinquent parent is held in contempt, the family court judge can:
- Order them to serve 120 hours of community service
- Order them to pay up to $1,000 in various fines
- Order them to serve up to five days in county jail
- Order them to sell property in order to pay support
- Order their employer to withhold part of their wages
It doesn’t stop there. There are numerous other ways to enforce the
order. If the delinquent parent is more than 30 days behind on their child
support payments, the California DMV can also refuse to use or renew their
driver’s license. If they are more than 120 days behind, the state
can revoke their license altogether. In some cases, the Department of
Child Support Services will also report non-paying parents to credit reporting
agencies, resulting in a negative credit score.
Work with a Board Certified Family Law Specialist: Call 626-340-0955
Do you need help enforcing a child support order in the Pasadena area?
If so, we encourage you to discuss your case with the experienced family
Goldberg & Gille. Our team is headed by a certified family law specialist, so you can trust
that your case will be in capable hands. We can also put more than 80
years of legal experience to work for you as soon as you give us a call.