According to the Insurance Research Council, nearly 20% of all drivers
in California have failed to purchase automobile insurance. This means
that you have a 20% chance of being involved in a
car accident with someone who does not have insurance. Although all drivers are required
by law to carry the bare minimum amount of auto insurance – which
only covers up to $30,000 total per accident – there are still a
significant number of motorists who operate their vehicles illegally.
What does this mean for you? If you are hit by an uninsured motorist,
it may be up to you pursue financial compensation from your own insurance
company – as long as you have acquired uninsured motorist coverage (UM).
How Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM) Works in California
If you have purchased uninsured motorist coverage (UM), this means that
you would be able to file a claim with your own insurance company after
being involved in an accident with an uninsured driver – as long
as you can prove that the accident was not your fault. This coverage can
also be extended to accidents where you were hit by an uninsured motorist as a
pedestrian, or accidents where the other driver flees the scene. Furthermore, UM
coverage may cover any passengers that were riding in your vehicle at
the time of the accident.
Through this type of claim, you can seek compensation for:
- Medical expenses
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of earnings
One of the only things that uninsured motorist policies in California do
not cover is property damage. Even so, it can still alleviate the financial
burden of costly medical expenses and forfeited income after a serious
auto accident. For this reason, it may be in your best interest to acquire
UM coverage if you have yet to do so. In the event that you are hit by
an uninsured motorist or involved in a hit and run accident without this
type of coverage, you may be left to foot the bill for all of your accident-related
expenses. If the accident was not your fault, this responsibility shouldn't
have to fall on your shoulders.
The Pasadena personal injury lawyer at Goldberg & Gille can explain
Contact our office today to learn more!
Will I need to hire an attorney before filing my claim?
Depending on the circumstances of your accident, you may be able to secure
the financial compensation that you deserve without having to involve
a lawyer. However, it is important to understand that the insurance company
does not have your best interests in mind. Their only goal is to settle
your claim as quickly as possible, for as little money as possible. This
means that you might have a difficult time securing a settlement that
adequately reflects the full extent of your damages.
If you are having trouble negotiating a fair settlement with the insurance
company, it is highly recommended that you seek help from a Pasadena personal
injury attorney at our firm. Statistics have shown that accident victims
are typically able to recover three times as much money when they hire
legal representation. Not to mention,
Goldberg & Gille has more than 80 years of legal experience that we can put to work for you, so you can trust that we know what it
takes to win a difficult case.
Hit by an uninsured driver? You don't have to fight the insurance company
alone! Get the help that you will need by setting up a
free initial consultation with the legal team at our firm.